TL;DR
Get wellness gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Strong Pilates says it is targeting 20 new UK studios in 2027, following seven openings in 2026 that took its UK network to 15. Nine Elms is confirmed for early 2027, while other named locations remain under consideration or planned; the company has not said how many sites are secured for the year.
Strong Pilates is targeting 20 new UK studios in 2027, the Australian-born fitness franchise said, after opening seven locations in the UK during 2026 and bringing its network to 15 studios. The company has confirmed a Nine Elms opening for early 2027, but has not disclosed how many of the 20 targeted sites are secured.
The company’s UK estate has grown from eight studios at the end of 2025 to 15 in 2026. Recent openings include Brighton, Hackney and Kingston. Strong Pilates says further studios are planned for Maidenhead and Harpenden in the coming months, and that a site in London’s Nine Elms neighborhood is confirmed for early 2027.
Franchisees are exploring opportunities in West Hampstead, St Albans, White City and Richmond. Those locations are not presented as confirmed openings. The company has not published a full list of 2027 sites, opening dates beyond Nine Elms, or details about how the 20-studio target will be divided across the UK.
Strong Pilates’ classes combine Pilates-inspired resistance work, strength training and cardio in 45-minute, low-impact workouts. They use the company’s proprietary Rowformer and Bikeformer machines. The company describes the format as a way to bring several training styles into one session; the expansion target is a corporate plan, not a guarantee that every proposed studio will open on schedule.
A Faster UK Franchise Rollout
A 20-studio target would mark a substantial next phase for Strong Pilates in the UK, where its network has nearly doubled in 2026 from eight locations to 15. If achieved, the additional sites would extend access to its classes beyond the locations it currently serves and create more opportunities for franchise operators and local property partners.
The plan also signals how the company intends to grow its presence in a competitive boutique fitness market. Strong Pilates is positioning its combined Pilates, strength and cardio format for customers seeking multiple kinds of training in one class. That is the company’s stated rationale; the announcement does not provide independent evidence of customer demand in each potential market or forecast the commercial performance of new studios.
For readers considering a membership, the distinction between a target and a confirmed opening matters. Nine Elms is confirmed for early 2027, while several other locations are still being explored. The number of studios that ultimately open will depend on site selection, franchise development and construction timelines, details the company has not provided.
Products Worth Considering

Hyperice Hypervolt Go 3 Portable Percussion Massage Gun with Carry Case

Levoit Eleva 300X Air Purifier with Sealed HEPA Filtration

Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 5300 Rechargeable Electric Toothbrush with 3 Brush Heads, Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From Eight UK Sites to 15
Strong Pilates began in Australia and has expanded beyond its home market. According to the Athletech News report, the company opened seven UK studios during 2026, taking its local network from eight at the end of the previous year to 15. Brighton, Hackney and Kingston are among the latest locations listed in the report; Maidenhead and Harpenden are planned for the coming months.
The UK target forms part of a wider international expansion. Strong Pilates said it opened 40 studios worldwide in 2026 and had 130 operating locations across 15 countries. It also reported more than 330 studios operating or in development globally and expects to exceed 150 open locations by January 2027. The company reported more than $75 million in net revenue over the past 12 months; the source does not specify the exact reporting period or provide a breakdown by country.
The company’s international plans include further growth in Europe, the Middle East and the United States. Those figures describe the broader business and should not be confused with the UK pipeline: the 20-studio figure is a UK target for 2027, not a count of locations already open or confirmed.
“U.K. consumers are some of the most discerning in the world when it comes to fitness. They’re time-poor, they know what good looks like, and they want results without having to split their week across three different gyms.”
— Michael Ramsey, Strong Pilates co-founder
How Many Sites Are Secured?
The announcement does not identify the 20 proposed studio locations or say how many leases, franchise agreements or construction plans are in place. Nine Elms is the only 2027 site explicitly described as confirmed. West Hampstead, St Albans, White City and Richmond are being explored by franchisees, while Maidenhead and Harpenden are described as planned openings in the coming months without specific dates.
It is also unclear whether the 20-studio target refers to openings during calendar year 2027, signed franchise agreements, or another measure of expansion. The report does not provide a UK-specific investment figure, expected staffing levels, or a timetable for individual sites beyond Nine Elms. The company’s stated revenue and global network figures are not independently detailed in the supplied report.
Nine Elms Leads the 2027 Pipeline
The next stated UK milestone is the planned early 2027 opening in Nine Elms. Strong Pilates also expects Maidenhead and Harpenden to open in the coming months, though it has not given dates. Further updates would be needed to establish which exploratory locations become confirmed studios and how the company plans to reach its 20-opening target.
As new sites are announced, readers can look for specific opening dates, franchise or lease status, and confirmation that each location is accepting bookings. Until those details are released, 20 studios remains a target, rather than a confirmed schedule of UK openings.
Key Questions
How many UK studios is Strong Pilates targeting in 2027?
The company is targeting 20 new UK studios in 2027. It has not published a complete location list or confirmed that all 20 sites are secured.
How many Strong Pilates studios are currently in the UK?
The company’s UK network reached 15 locations in 2026, up from eight at the end of 2025, after seven openings during 2026.
Which 2027 UK location is confirmed?
A studio in London’s Nine Elms neighborhood is confirmed for early 2027. West Hampstead, St Albans, White City and Richmond are still being explored by franchisees.
What kind of workouts does Strong Pilates offer?
The company describes its classes as 45-minute, low-impact workouts combining Pilates-inspired resistance training, strength and cardio, using its Rowformer and Bikeformer machines.
Is the 20-studio target a confirmed opening schedule?
No. It is a company target. The source confirms Nine Elms for early 2027 but does not say how many of the other proposed sites have secured locations or opening dates.
Source: athletechnews.com
